Honours | 2017

We pay tribute to many MMS alumni and staff, and members of the broader Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences University community, whose outstanding contributions to their field and society were recognised in the Australia Day Honours List in January 2017.

The honours recognised below are the Companion of the Order of Australia (AC), Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), Member of the Order of Australia (AM), Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM), and Public Service Medal.

Professor Keryn A Williams AC (BSc (Hons) 1970, PhD 1975)

for eminent service to medical science in the field of ophthalmology through the research and development of corneal transplantation, as an academic and mentor, and as a supporter of young women scientists.

Professor Mark E Cooper AO (MBBS 1979, PhD 1989)

for distinguished service to biomedical research in the field of diabetes and related renal and cardiovascular diseases, to medical education, and as a mentor of young scientists.

Professor Leon Flicker AO (GDipEpid&Biostat 1993, PhD 1996)

for distinguished service to medicine and medical education in the field of geriatrics, as an academic and researcher, and through contributions to improved dementia prevention and care.

Professor Gwendolyn L Gilbert AO (MBBS 1965, MD 1990)

for distinguished service to medical research, particularly the study of infectious disease prevention and control, to tertiary education as an academic, and to public health policy.

Ms Mary P Hemming AO (GDipEpid&Biostat 1995)

for distinguished service to community health as a leader and consultant in the development of therapeutic and pharmaceutical guidelines, nationally and internationally.

Professor Colin L Masters AO
Laureate Professor, University of Melbourne; DistinguishedFlorey Fellow, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health; Executive Director of the Mental Health Research Institute.

for distinguished service to medical research through international and national contributions to understanding Alzheimer's and other neurodegenerative diseases.

Dr Alain G Middleton AO (GDipForenOdon 1994)

for distinguished service to dentistry as a forensic odontologist, as a global expert in victim identification, and through the development of international standards in disaster response.

Professor Graeme Sloman AO (BSc 1950, MBBS 1953, Hon DMedSci 2010)

for distinguished service to medicine, particularly to the specialty of cardiology, as a clinician, through advisory roles with a range of medical organisations, and to the community.

Professor David L Vaux AO (BMedSci 1981, MBBS 1984, PhD 1990)

for distinguished service to medicine in the field of biomedical cancer research, to higher education as an academic and mentor, and to professional integrity and ethics.

Dr Noel A Alpins AM (MBBS 1970, GDipOpthalmology 1976)

for significant service to ophthalmology, particularly to the development of innovative refractive surgery techniques, and to professional associations.

Dr John M Quinn AM (MBBS 1974)

for significant service to medicine in the fields of general and vascular surgery, and to professional organisations.

Dr John W Farmer OAM (BOptom 1977, MOptom 2007)

for service to optometry, and to the community.

Dr Patrick H Giddings OAM (MBBS 1981)

for service to rural and remote medicine.

Dr Martha L Kent OAM (MBBS 1975)

for service to medicine, particularly to mental health.

Dr Leonard J Kliman OAM (MBBS 1977)

for service to medicine in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology.

Professor Michael J Ackland PSM (MBBS 1973)

for a significant contribution to public health including leading major innovations and policy development in chronic diseases, risk factor surveillance and prevention.