Celebrating your achievements

Each year, Melbourne Medical School alumni and staff are recognised for their research and contribution to the world of medicine. Here, we share some recent highlights.

Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors

Professor Shyamali Dharmage has been named a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor. This title recognises professors who have demonstrated pre-eminence in research or creative activity, or in research and teaching. Dr Dharmage is a doctor, respiratory epidemiologist and public health physician whose research over the past 20 years has changed the landscape of obstructive lung diseases by generating new knowledge and shifting approaches to treatments.

Professor Malcolm McConville has also received the Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor title. Over several decades, he has advanced the cause of science and medical research, particularly in the understanding of metabolism and tropical parasitic infections. Professor McConville is National Convenor of Metabolomics Australia, a government-funded network of facilities focused on studying the whole picture of metabolic activity and the effects of mutations on the function of cells, tissues and whole-body systems.

2022 Victorian Junior Doctor of the Year

Dr Jasmina Kevric (BMedSci 2008, MBBS 2010, PGDipSurgAnat 2012), a trainee surgeon at Northern Health, was named Junior Doctor of the Year at the Australian Medical Association Victoria Awards. Dr Kevric grew up in Bosnia during the civil war and during this time decided she wanted to become a doctor. She has recently been accepted to the BreastSurgANZ program, beginning her fellowship at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. Read more.

2022 Australian Medical Student of the Year

University of Melbourne final year medical student, Jasraaj Singh (BBiomed 2018), has received the Rural Doctors Association of Australia’s (RDAA) Medical Student of the Year Award for 2022. Ms Singh was presented with the award at the Rural Medicine Australia conference dinner on Friday 14 October. The award is given annually to a medical student displaying a passion and strong commitment to Rural Medicine.

Jasraaj was at the Shepparton Rural Clinical School for MD2 and at Shepparton Women’s Health Clinic for MD3. She is also President of the Outlook Student Club, the Rural Health Club for the University of Melbourne. As part of the 2022 Northern Territory Primary Health Network High School to Health Careers Program, Jasraaj delivered health education workshops to students in the Top End. Read more.

Gold Telly Award

Associate Professor David Kok (BMedSc 2004, MBBS 2006) and Dr Sathana Dushyanthen (MSc 2014, PhD 2019, GradCert UniTeaching 2021) won a Gold Award at the 43rd annual Telly Awards. The Telly Awards recognise excellence in video and television and Associate Professor Kok and Dr Dushyanthen won the education and training category with their highly informative video lesson, Stereotactic Radiotherapy. It explores the principles behind an advanced form of cancer treatment that enables oncologists to treat previously untreatable tumours. The video was produced by the Melbourne School of Professional and Continuing Education’s (MSPACE) video production unit and was developed with the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Alliance (VCCC) and the University. Read more.

For more News & Events please visit: https://mdhs.unimelb.edu.au/news-and-events