Professor Megan Munsie elected to the ISSCR Board of Directors

Professor Megan Munsie has been elected to the 2023 International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR) Board of Directors, for a three-year term.

Professor Megan Munsie

Professor Megan Munsie will bring her expertise in public policy, community and professional education, and advocacy for stem cell research to the new role.

Founded in 2002, the ISSCR is an independent, global, non-profit organisation that promotes excellence in stem cell science and applications to human health.

Professor Munsie brings her extensive experience in public policy, community and professional education and advocacy for stem cell and related research to this role.

Megan is a Professor of Emerging Technology (Stem Cells) at the Department of Medicine at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, and the group leader of the Stem Cell Ethics and Policy research group at the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute.

She is also the reNEW PREPARE theme lead, an interdisciplinary research team with expertise in medical sociology, science and technology studies, science communication, bioethics, clinical translation regulation, and health economics. PREPARE works with reNEW researchers to consider issues affecting potential impact, development, and delivery of socially robust stem cell medicine to the market.

Her research focuses on understanding community attitudes and expectations in regenerative medicine and other emerging technologies. She also examines the role of policy and professional standards in enabling responsible translation.

She currently serves on two ISSCR Committees: Ethics, and Public Policy and is also the President of the Australasian Society for Stem Cell Research.    

“I am so honoured to be recognised and selected by my peers and colleagues for this role. I look forward to serving the global stem cell community and supporting the ISSCR’s ongoing quest to promote excellence in stem cell science,” said Professor Munsie.

You can read more in the ISSCR President Dr Amander T. Clark’s inaugural address.

Originally published at: