Seed funding recipients: 2024

The Baker Department of Cardiometabolic Health is pleased to announce the recipients of seed funding for 2024. The competitive scheme received projects from several research groups involving staff from the Baker Institute and other Departments throughout the University, collaborating in the Baker Department of Cardiometabolic Health.

Projects awarded funding:

  • A new target for non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) and its-associated co-morbidities  

Principal Investigator: Will De Nardo. Investigators: Matthew Watt, Dragana Dragoljevic, Andrew Murphy. Awarded $100,000.

  • Impact of micro- and nano-plastics on the cardiac cellular landscape

Principal Investigators: Alex Pinto. Investigators: Patrick Lelliott, Kevin Barnham. Awarded $100,000.

  • Gamma Delta T Cells; Central Players or Innocent Bystanders in Cardiovascular Disease

Principal Investigators: Jonathan Noonan, Nicholas Gherardin, Hui-Fern Koay. Awarded $100,000.

  • Novel stimuli-responsive polymer nanoparticles for delivery of mRNA: Tuning them to increase stealth and reduce immune responses

Principal Investigator: Xiaowei Wang. Investigators: Georgina Such, Mark Vidallon, Haikun Liu, Aidan Walsh. Awarded $100,000.

Grant recipients will give presentations on their projects and progress throughout 2024 and 2025 as part of our Seed Funding Seminar series. For more information on these seminars and the seed grant scheme, contact us at

More Information

Idan Ben-Barak