8th Annual Department of Psychiatry Research Symposium

Esteemed guest speakers came together to share the latest in psychiatry research during the 8th Annual Department of Psychiatry Research Symposium. The Symposium was organized by the Department’s Research sub-committee led by Dr Anita Goh together with Ms Jan Mariani.

Facilitated by multi-award winning producer and broadcaster, Dr Norman Swan, the Symposium was a success, with over 100 attendees.  The Symposium commenced with a presentation from the Keynote Speaker Professor David Copolov (AO) and was followed by a panel discussion which addressed the question of how evidence-based research can inform current and future mental health treatment and policy. Panel members included Professor Malcolm Hopwood, Professor Louise Newman, Dr Samantha Loi, and Professor Tarun Bastiampillai.

In the afternoon, early career researchers, PhD candidates, and Honours students shared their exciting and important new research covering a wide range of topics, from psychosocial intervention with Tuvalu cyclone survivors to adjunctive treatment for schizophrenia symptoms, and so much more.

The Symposium concluded with a Research Poster/Presentation award ceremony to the following awardees:

Oral presentation awardees

Dr Dhama Eratne    –  1st place
Kavisha Fernando   – 2nd place
Dr Erica O'Neill        –  3rd place

Poster awardees

Divyangana Rakesh      – 1st place
Suriati Mohamed Saini  – 2nd place
Patrick Laing                 – 3rd place