Doctor of Medicine (Rural Pathway)

The construction of new accommodation, learning and teaching infrastructure has commenced at the Department of Rural Health facilities in Shepparton.

rural health


The Melbourne Medical School’s Department of Rural Health was established in 1999 with funding from the Commonwealth Government to provide professional health education and research training in a rural context. Based at Shepparton in the Goulburn Valley, the Department has major nodes at Ballarat and Wangaratta, and associations with nearly 40 smaller towns in rural Victoria.

In 2018, the University of Melbourne successfully lodged a funding grant submission under the Commonwealth Government’s Murray-Darling Medical Schools Network (MDMSN) initiative.  This initiative is part of the government’s Stronger Rural Health Strategy to set up a program to train and retain Doctors in rural areas.  The University of Melbourne will receive capital funding of $6.561m to design and construct additional student accommodation and expand the learning and teaching facilities at the Shepparton campus.  This will add year one of the Doctor of Medicine (MD) and enable delivery of the full four year post graduate degree to in Shepparton.

The first cohort of 30 students, 15 of which will be preselected from the La Trobe University Bachelor of Biomedical Science (Medical) undergraduate degree, will commence studies in 2022.  This is part of a collaboration with La Trobe University to enable an end to end rural medical training pathway.


Have any questions or  enquiries  regarding the Doctor of Medicine Rural Pathway (Graduate Entry)?

Submit an enquiry at the below form:

Enquiry Form