Celebrating our staff and students in 2015

Rural Clinical School Graduating Class of 2015

Professor Andrew Kaye

The American Association of Neurosurgeons presented Professor Kaye with an Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 annual general meeting of the Association in San Francisco. The MMS Department of Surgery, which spans 9 separate locations, was established in 2015 under the leadership of Professor Andrew Kaye as Head of Department.

Professor Chris Hovens

Department of Surgery’s Chris Hovens was successful in being promoted to a full professor. The new Professor Hovens has had continuous NHMRC grants for the last 15 years, and in 2015 was the Chief Investigator (CI) on a successful $1.2 million National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grant involving prostate cancer genomics. During 2015 Professor Hovens, together with Dr Niall Corcoran successfully published papers in Nature and Cell.

Dr Eamonn Fahy

Dr Fahy, a PhD student in ophthalmology, won the Trans-Tasman Three Minute PhD competition in Australia and won the Universitas 21 Three Minute Competition representing Australia and New Zealand. He was also awarded the best presentation at the Department of Surgery’s 2015 Research Day.

Professor Kerr Graham

An orthopaedic surgeon from the Department of Paediatrics Professor Graham was presented with the 2015 American Academy of Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine Mentorship award. This was in recognition of his commitment to education, mentorship and training of orthopaedic surgeons, and management of serious orthopaedic problems associated with cerebral palsy.

Professors Colin Royse and Alistair Royse

Department of Surgery Professors Colin Royse and Alistair Royse have been successful in obtaining a $1.4 million National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grant to commence the Australian arm of a major international clinical study on the role of blood transfusion in cardiac surgery.