RMH Clinical School Silver Linings 2020

By Dr Catherine Seymour

The COVID-19 pandemic posed immeasurable obstacles for all teaching and professional staff, healthcare workers and medical students not only at Royal Melbourne Hospital, but globally.

Dr Jennifer Keast
Dr Jennifer Keast

However, it also allowed for great creativity of thought and the rapid adoption and acceptance of innovative ways of delivering the very best of clinical education and mentorship. Our team of dedicated educators showed resilience, focus and doggedness to ensure that our students received the best possible medical education during the 2020 academic year and beyond.

Dr Christian Karcher
Dr Christian Karcher

In a year where the norms of the past were abandoned, members of our team continued to produce notable research projects, presentations and articles in addition to receiving awards for their work. We wish to acknowledge their contribution in this newsletter.

1. Professor Peter Morley

Director of Medical Education RMH Clinical School, Senior Specialist Intensive Care RMH

Lifetime Achievement Award 2020
The Resuscitation Science Symposium 2020

2. Dr Jennifer Keast

Simulationist RMH Clinical School

John Smyth Award 2020
Most Meritorious Thesis – Doctor of Education
COVID Medical Education Hero 2020

3. Dr Christian Karcher

Sub-Dean RMH Clinical School, Intensive Care Specialist RMH

The E.X.C.I.T.E Master of Clinical Education Prize 2020
Staff perception of routine audio-visual surveillance in the intensive care unit.

4. Dr Jai Darvall

Sub-Dean RMH Clinical School, Intensive Care and Anaesthetic specialist RMH

ANZCA Bulletin Article – Voices from the COVID-19 frontline
Fellow at the Frontline in Victoria’s Second Wave

5. Dr Rahul Barmanray

Clinical Skills Coach RMH Clinical School, Endocrinologist

Young Investigator Award Australasian Diabetes Congress 2020
DINGO Study – Diabetes IN-hospital Glucose Outcomes

6. Dr Stephen Muhi

RMH Clinical Skills Coach and Infectious Disease Physician RMH

60 Minutes interview (aired 16 August) – The Red Zone