University Department of Rural Health (UDRH) Graduation Celebration

The University Department of Rural Health (UDRH) held a Graduation Ceremony on Thursday 31 March to celebrate the achievements of 12 students who completed a postgraduate course in 2020 and 2021.

(L-R back row) Professor Julian Wright, Ms Andreia Marques, Ms Shawana Andrews, Ms Gwenda Freeman, Ms Helen Everist, Dr Karen Ferguson, Professor Dr Marcia Langton AO, Professor Lisa Bourke, Professor Doug Boyle, Professor John Prins

(L-R front row) Dr Raylene Nixon, Ms Chanoa Cooper, Ms Leah Lindrea-Morrison, Ms Tracey Hearn and Dr Sharon Atkinson-Briggs

The graduating cohort included 10 First Nation students, comprising four First Nation students who completed their PhD, one who completed a Master of Public Health, one who completed a Graduate Certificate and seven who completed a Specialist Certificate. The Specialist Certificate is an entry course based on work experience to support First Nation health professionals into study. One student completed both the Specialist and Graduate Certificate.

The 13 awards were presented by Professor Marcia Langton AO, Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Langton spoke about the commitment of these students and their families, and their engagement in Indigenous knowledges. Professor Langton also provided a special mention of the late Peter Ferguson, who was involved in the early planning of these courses, and how proud he would be of the students’ achievements.

Professor Lisa Bourke, Director of University Department of Rural Health, spoke of each students achievements during the ceremony.

“It is wonderful to see First Nation students engage with tertiary education to improve health and wellbeing in their own communities. They are all leaders driving change within their communities” said Professor Bourke.

Congratulations to the following graduates:

Specialist Certificate in Empowering Health in Aboriginal Communities

Ms Jane White

Ms Alana Marsh

Ms Leah Lindrea-Morrison

Mr Colin Mitchell

Ms Simone Guinan

Ms Chanoa Cooper

Ms Helen Everist

Graduate Certificate in Aboriginal Health in Rural Communities  

Ms Jane White

Master of Public Health

Ms Tracey Hearn

Doctor of Philosophy

Dr Raylene Nixon

Dr Tui Crumpen

Dr Sharon Atkinson-Briggs

Dr Karyn Ferguson

The University Department of Rural Health provides professional health education and research training in a rural context. Based at Shepparton in the Goulburn Valley, the department has major nodes at Ballarat and Wangaratta, and associations with nearly 40 smaller towns in rural Victoria.

More Information

Ms Kathy Lynch

(03) 5321 4160