Awards and prizes


ANZCA Melbourne Awards

ANZCA Melbourne Emerging Anaesthesia Researcher Award

The ANZCA Melbourne Emerging Anaesthesia Researcher Award was established to foster multicentre research at University of Melbourne affiliated hospitals.

The award is open to ANZCA Fellows within five years of fellowship who are emerging researchers, working part time or full time at Departments of Anaesthesia at University of Melbourne affiliated hospitals.

Up to $10,000 is awarded annually to a Fellow who proposes the best pilot or feasibility work for a larger clinical study.

Previous recipients

2023  Dr Shervin Tosif, Austin Health
2022  Dr Geoffrey Wigmore, Western Health
2021  Dr Way Siong (Alex) Koh, Royal Melbourne Hospital
2020  Dr Patrick Tan, Royal Women's Hospital
2019  Dr Steven McGuigan, St Vincent's Hospital
2018  Dr Rachel Chapman, Royal Children's Hospital
2017  Dr Lachlan Miles, Austin Health
2016  Dr Hugh Taylor, Western Health
2015  A/Prof Laurence Weinberg, Austin Health

ANZCA Melbourne Emerging Researcher Scholarship

The ANZCA Melbourne Emerging Researcher Scholarship (AMERS) is designed to to support early-career researchers in Anaesthesia, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, enrolled in a Research Higher Degree at The University of Melbourne.

The scholarship recognises the strategic importance of supporting and encouraging relatively new FANZCAs and Provisional Fellows in establishing their research careers, to advance scientific knowledge and enhance the evidence base for practice in the specialties.

A scholarship grant of $20,000 is awarded annually to a Fellow or Provisional Fellow who is enrolled in a PhD or other Research Higher Degree at the University of Melbourne, and under the oversight of the Anaesthesia, Perioperative and Pain Medicine program, Department of Critical Care.

This scholarship is a flexible funding grant that may be used either for a living expenses stipend or for research project expenses, or both.

Previous recipients

2023  Dr Jess Davies, Austin Health
2022  Dr Earlene Silvapulle, Royal Melbourne Hospital
2021  Dr Ned Douglas, Royal Melbourne Hospital
2020  Dr Lachlan Miles, Austin Hospital
2019  Dr Bae Corlette, Royal Children's Hospital
2018  Dr Jai Darvall, Royal Melbourne Hospital


Department of Critical Care, Melbourne Medical School, The University of Melbourne and the
Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists' Foundation.

Kate Leslie Research Award

The Kate Leslie Research Award ($500) is awarded annually to the critical care honours student with the highest mark for their thesis.

This award is named in honour of Professor Kate Leslie AO FAHMS. Professor Leslie studied Medicine at the University of Melbourne before undertaking specialist training in Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine. Professor Leslie also has a Doctor of Medicine and a Master of Epidemiology and is Head of Research in the Department of Anaesthesia and Pain Management at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Complementary to her outstanding career as a clinician-researcher she has been an exceptional and caring mentor and supervisor to novice and early career researchers.

Professor Leslie's clinical interests include anaesthesia for neurosurgery, colorectal and trauma surgery, and sedation for gastrointestinal endoscopy. She is an Honorary Professorial Fellow in the Department of Critical Care, Melbourne Medical School, and Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Melbourne, and Honorary Adjunct Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University.

Professor Leslie was elected ANZCA President in 2012 and has received many awards and accolades during her career, including the Robert Orton Medal, the Melbourne Health Chairman’s Award, and fellowship of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Research. She was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia in 2016 and was the first anaesthetist to be honoured with a Doctor of Medical Science (Honoris Causa) by the University of Melbourne.