Congratulations MD Student Conference 3 Minute Thesis Award Winners

Congratulations to Department of Medicine and Radiology Medical Students Benjamin Johnstone and Priscilla Yong on being awarded the People's Choice Awards for their 3 Minute Thesis presentation at the 2017 MD Student Conference.

Doctor of Medicine (MD4) students (left to right) Priscilla Yong, Kate Greentree, Benjamin Johnstone and Lucy Desmond at the 2017 MD Student Conference. Picture supplied.

Doctor of Medicine students currently completing their research projects were invited to present their work at the annual gathering of Melbourne Medical students, the 2017 MD Student Conference. Over the course of the meeting, there were poster and Three Minute Thesis (3MT) presentations from students working in a range of different areas.

Congratulations to DMR students Benjamin Johnstone and Priscilla Yong who were awarded the ‘People’s Choice Award’ for their 3MT Presentations at the MD student conference.The students presented the MD research projects that they had been working on over the past semester. The ‘People’s Choice Award’ is awarded to students whose presentations received the most number of audience votes in their respective disciplines.

Priscilla was supervised by Dr Elif Ekinci, Head of the Diabetes and Obesity Group in DMR's Austin Health Academic Node, and Benjamin was supervised by Prof Terry O'Brien, Head of the Epilepsy and Neuropharmacology Group in DMR's Royal Melbourne Hospital Academic Node.