Department of Psychiatry Awards 2020

Professor Chris Davey welcomed  staff and students to the annual awards event held virtually on 7 December 2020. Professor Davey acknowledged all staff for their contribution to the Department's research and teaching activities throughout 2020.

The award winners for the best presentations held at the 2020 Department Research Symposium were Ye Tian [Early Career Researcher) and  Divyangana Rakesh [Graduate Research Student].

The teaching awards recognise the contribution of our teachers who teach into the Master of Psychiatry program. Many of our teachers have been contributing to the course for well over two decades and we have had a steady stream of new and enthusiastic teachers joining us as well. Some teachers are involved in the co-ordination responsibilities for each subject and provide more in-depth teaching whilst others contribute to specialised topics. Many of our on-campus teachers have been involved in development of the online content as well. Traditionally we have acknowledged our on-campus teachers based on feedback received from students. We congratulated our on-campus teachers who made a sterling effort to move teaching to the virtual space due to COVID-19. In particular, Libby Dent, Sandra Radovini, Sid Bloch and Donovan Moncur who ensured the on campus course kept running smoothly. We also acknowledged the many teachers who taught into the various subjects via zoom.

Our online course continued seamlessly this year, thanks to all the tutors who ensured that despite the increased number of students online, the quality of teaching continued to a high standard.  This year, for the first time, we acknowledged the following tutors who have been contributing to the online course and recognised their achievements. The following tutors received a 2020 Master of Psychiatry teaching award:

  • Thea Lawson-Baker - Psychiatry of Old Age
  • Tejas Golhar               - Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Michael Mazzolini   - Special Topics in Psychiatry
  • Ravi Srinivasaraju    - Core Psychiatry
  • David Syfret              - Substance Use Disorder
  • Kate Wick                    - Clinical Liaison Psychiatry

The Department was honoured to welcome Professor Bruce Singh to present The Bruce Singh Award which is bestowed upon the highest achieving student averaged across three years of the Master of Psychiatry. The 2020 recipient of this award was Dr Laura Blair-West.

We were delighted to welcome Nagtha Anil who received the 2019 John Adey Prize in Psychiatry and John Cade Memorial Medal Award.

The John Adey Prize in Psychiatry Award is awarded to the candidate placed first in the mental health component of the subject Principles of Clinical Practice 3 in the Doctor of Medicine (MD) course. The John Cade Memorial Medal in Clinical Psychiatry Award is sponsored by the Victorian Branch of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) and is awarded to the student who places first overall in the oral and clinical examinations in the mental health term of the subject Principles of Clinical Practice 3 in the Doctor of Medicine (MD) course.

A warm congratulations is extended to award recipients.