Lifetime Achievement Award for Professor John Hamilton

Professor John Hamilton, Department of Medicine, RMH has received an international Lifetime Achievement Award for his seminal contributions to inflammation research, particularly macrophage biology, and for his constant support and mentoring of junior researchers from the International Association of Inflammation Societies.

J A Hamilton
Professor John Hamilton

He will accept this award at the World Congress on Inflammation to be held in September 2019.

Professor Hamilton made the transition from a PhD in chemistry to postdoctoral training in biochemistry, microbiology and immunology followed by ten fruitful years in Basel, Toronto and New York at leading academic research institutions.

In New York, he was an Associate Member/Assistant Professor at Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research/Cornell University Graduate School of Medical Sciences and returned to Melbourne as a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne in November 1981.

In 1997, he was appointed inaugural Director, Arthritis and Inflammation Research Centre, at the University of Melbourne and in 1998 acted as the Scientific Director, Bernard O'Brien Institute of Microsurgery.

In 2001, he was made founding CEO of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Chronic Inflammatory Diseases and assisted the CRC to obtain supplementary funding in 2003.

In 2010 he was the first non-clinician to be awarded the Australian Rheumatology Association Distinguished Service Medal.

In the same year he was the second non-US researcher and second non-clinician to be awarded the American College of Rheumatology Distinguished Basic Investigator Award.

He is a past President of the International Association of Inflammation Societies.

Professor Hamilton is author of 352 refereed publications.

His major research contributions have been towards the understanding of cytokine-mediated functions of macrophage lineage cells in inflammation/autoimmunity.

  • Awards