2022 MDHS Dean’s Awards for Excellence

Pictured: Dr Sarah Lensen, Dean of MDHS Prof Jane Gunn, Dr Kate Hodgson

Congratulations to Dr Kate Hodgson and Dr Sarah Lensen who were both recipients of the MDHS Dean’s Awards for Excellence.

Dr Kate Hodgson received the 2022 MDHS Dean’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Research prize. Dr Hodgson is a neonatologist at the Royal Women’s Hospital and PIPER (Paediatric Infant Perinatal Emergency Retrieval) at the Royal Children’s Hospital. She has recently completed her PhD focusing on the SHINE trial, using nasal high-flow to support neonatal endotracheal intubation, the placement of a breathing tube. Her ongoing research interests include improving neonatal intubation safety, exploring alternative methods of airway support in neonates and optimising delivery room stabilisation of preterm infants.

Dr Sarah Lensen received the 2022 MDHS Award for Excellence in Research by an Early-Career Researcher. Dr Sarah Lensen is an NHMRC Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne. Broadly, her research aims to improve and facilitate evidence-based healthcare of people undergoing fertility treatment. Her current research focusses on the evidence-base behind IVF ‘add-ons’ and finding ways to translate this information for IVF patients and professionals.