Welcome from the Department Head

Professor Christopher Davey, Head of Department of Psychiatry

The Department is located across a broad reach of Melbourne. It has teaching and research units at Austin Health, St Vincent's Health, and within NorthWestern Mental Health: the latter includes units at Royal Melbourne Hospital, Sunshine Hospital, and Northern Hospital. The Department also has units at two private hospitals: Albert Road Clinic (Ramsay Health Care) and The Melbourne Clinic (Healthscope).

The Department has a number of specialist clinical research units, comprising the Academic Unit for Psychiatry of Old Age, Melbourne Neuropsychiatry Centre, Phoenix Australia (Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health), and the Psychosocial Research Centre.

The Department’s research focuses on improving our understanding and treatment of mental health disorders. It covers a broad range of psychiatric research, including prediction and biomarker research, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, neuroimaging, psychosocial research, economic evaluation, ethics, psychiatric epidemiology, and mental health service delivery.

Centres and Units

The Department of Psychiatry is committed to the prevention of mental illness and improved quality of life for individuals affected by mental illness both nationally and internationally.

Centres and Units

Postera Crescam Laude